Lifestyle and Community Services

Our team of friendly Support Workers with a variety of interests, skills and communication methods can support you to live your life to the fullest.

Drop-In Service

Our drop-in service is accessible to all members of the South Australian Deaf Community, regardless of whether they have an NDIS plan.

The drop-in service is available at the following locations:

Drop in service - Deaf:Can Do Welland (59-61 Grange Rd)

August - Every Friday (9am-12noon) and every alternate Monday (9am-12noon)

Fri. 2nd August
Fri 9th August
Mon. 12th August
Fri. 16th August
Fri. 23rd August
Mon. 26th August
Fri. 30th August

September - Every Friday (9am-12noon) and every alternate Monday (9am-12noon)

Fri. 6th September
Mon. 9th September
Fri. 13th September
Fri. 20th September
Mon. 23rd September
Fri. 27th September

October - Every Friday (9am-12noon) and every alternate Monday (9am-12noon)

Fri.4th October
Mon. 7th October
Fri. 11th October
Fri. 18th October
Mon. 21st October
Fri. 25th October

November - Every Friday (9am-12noon) and every alternate Monday (9am-12noon)

Fri. 1st November
Mon. 4th November
Fri. 8th November
Fri. 15th November
Mon. 18th November
Fri. 22nd November
Fri. 29th November

December - Every Friday (9am-12noon) and every alternate Monday (9am-12noon)

Mon. 2nd December
Fri. 6th December
Fri. 13th November
Mon 16th December

Drop in Service - Senior Citizens Group at DCSSA, Modbury North (23 Famechon Cres)

August (Monday 9am - 12 noon)

5 August

September (Monday 9am - 12 noon)

16 September

October (Monday 9am - 12 noon)

14 October

November (Monday 9am - 12 noon)

11 November

December (Monday 9am - 12 noon)

9 December

Drop in Service - Marion Multicultural Centre (287 Diagonal Rd)

August (Thursdays 11am-2pm)

1st August
8th August
15th August
22nd August
29th August

September (Thursdays 11am-2pm)

5th September
12th September
19th September
26th September

October (Thursdays 11am-2pm)

3rd October
10th October
17th October
24th October
31st October

November (Thursdays 11am-2pm)

7th November
14th November
21st November
28th November

December (Thursdays 11am-2pm)

5th December
12th December
19th December

 

Services:

  • Language support: translation from English to Auslan to English with letters, reports, bills, forms, finances.
  • Literacy support with writing e.g. letter preparation, notes, information, directions.
  • Assist with basic problem-solving.
  • Information provision: e.g. medical, legal, community information.
  • Referrals: for employment, education support, and further service support.
  • Clarifying lifestyle & personal information: Centrelink and banking support.
  • Support with scheduling: making appointments, responding to queries, information collection.
  • Basic counselling & conflict resolution.
  • Technology access: Use of National Relay Service, general technology support e.g. SMS, phone calls, faxing.
  • Access to computers: paying bills, purchasing/ordering, filling in online forms.
  • Booking interpreting support, identifying interpreters of choice.

Please note: A booking is required to see a community worker at all other times.

If you have a question, want some more information or would just like to speak to someone for support click on the links below and we will be able to help you.

We’re here to help.
Make an enquiry now.

If you have a question, want some more information or would just like to speak to someone for support click on the links below and we will be able to help you.

Call us on (08) 08 8100 8200Contact us

Individual and Lifestyle Support

We can support you as you learn new skills to navigate everyday life.

A team of friendly lifestyle support workers with a variety of interests, skills and communication methods can support you to:

  • Learn communication skills and strategies for participating in everyday life.
  • Participate in social or community events.
  • Engage in everyday activities like shopping, budgeting and public transport.
  • Develop the ability to travel independently on public transport.
  • Develop independent living skills like cooking, cleaning and personal maintenance.
  • Engage with domestic assistance or skills training;
  • Access wider community and networking with social circles;
  • Access personal care assistance and transportation support;
  • Access social communication support, i.e. Deafblind;
  • Develop an independent lifestyle.

Community Support

Some people may need additional support to navigate complex situations in their lives. For this, we offer specialised services including:

Services:

  • Support for medical and legal situations
  • Focus on capacity building skills training
  • Building relationships with other people around them